Frequently Asked Questions
Safe Guns in Safe Places for Safe Families
No. California law is not specific on this question, although California law does state in CPC Sec 25110 (9):
Criminal Storage of a Firearm in the First Degree.
(Summary) You cannot dispose of a firearm if you know or reasonably should know that a child or someone not legally eligible to be in possession (such as a felon), is likely to gain access to the firearm.
Penalty is 16 months in prison and/or up to $10,000 fine.
In short, all trash in Orange County is required to go to a transfer station where the trash is divided up for recycling and would “likely” be found at that point.
SOLUTION: With our California gun disposal and transfer services, CGS can legally take possession of the unwanted firearm and disassemble, destroy or sell it.